Posted in Out of the Ordinary

Quick Thought: Expanding Reality

Contact
**It’s been a while since I’ve done one of these, but here is the first in this series called “Quick Thought”. For more on the inspiration for this particular post, click here.

When I was a child, my thoughts and concepts about life and living were broad and endless. I was idealistic, and often looked to fantasy as a foundation to my ideas. What I could do, what the world was capable, what people were like, that whole shebang. However, age changes our perceptions. And I, like many people, began to ground my thoughts in reality.

But is this always necessary? Must we always be realistic? Or can idealism reign in age of cynicism and widespread mistrust of others (and even ourselves)? When we say we need to widen our vision, we need to widen our understanding of what we should be, in addition to what we are.

Each individual is capable of much, much more than we give ourselves credit for. We need only to have a greater resolve, and a firm concept that we can do more. And on another note, just letting go of our own preconceptions and others’ expectations, and instead doing what makes us feel like individual contributors to greater society. In other words, what makes us feel good. Let go of expectations, focus on ideas. Passion is an incredible force, without which many times we become hindered and disillusioned. Reinvigorate passion and interest, and without a doubt a wider vision and expanded horizons will follow.

I’ve tried to embrace my newfound reality-oriented approach, but not the expense of my childhood idealism. How is “realistic idealism” as a mindset?

I think it’s splendid.

Stay inspired,

“Curious by Nature”

Photo: Flickr
One thought on “Quick Thought: Expanding Reality

  1. I like it “idealistic realism” such a great reminder! We get so busy with our lives we forget our passions. Thanks for another thought provoking post! I like the quote that goes with it too.

Leave a Reply

